- Summons and Complaints
- Affidavits and Claims
- Order to Show Cause
- Small Claims
- Divorce Papers
- Personal Protection Orders (PPO’s)
- Writ of Evictions
Please send papers to be served/posted/mailed along with the proper fee to the following address:
|Calhoun County Sheriff's Office
|161 East Michigan Avenue
|Battle Creek, MI 49014
Please note: Any information regarding the person(s) being served such as: type of car driven, hours of employment, hours most likely to be at address, description, etc. would be appreciated and could expedite service.
Cash, check or Money Order made payable to the County of Calhoun. Visa or MasterCard is also accepted (service fees may apply) Click here to pay online
The Civil Division is responsible for receiving and distributing the majority of the Freedom of Information requests for the Sheriff’s Office. FOIA requests must be submitted in writing to the Records Office. Additional charges are assessed for photographs, videos, and extensive reproduction of records. This process may take five (5) business days for a response.
This request can be submitted by filling the request in person at our offices located in Battle Creek or Marshall, or the request can also be submitted by faxing, mailing, or emailing the request form.
|Calhoun County Sheriff's Office
|161 East Michigan Ave.
|Battle Creek, Michigan 49014
FOIA Requests can now be submitted on-line. Please click here.
The cost will vary depending on what kind of information is requested. If the amount exceeds $50, a down payment may be required before processing. Cash, check or Money Order made payable to the County of Calhoun.
General traffic accident reports must be obtained from P2C - Police 2 Citizen
The Calhoun County Sheriff’s Foreclosure Sale is held every Thursday, except holidays, at the Calhoun County Justice Center in the Calhoun County Sheriff’s Administrative Office, Rm F225, at 161 E. Michigan Avenue, Battle Creek, MI 49014. The sale starts promptly at 10 a.m. and will be held open for one hour.
The Calhoun County Sheriff only acts as the auctioneer for the mortgage foreclosure sales, and does not have prior information about the sales, such as what property and/or price of property will be until Wednesday after 1 p.m. of the current week. Sale deeds can sometimes be brought in by private law offices on the day and time of sale so no prior information would be known until that time. Changes such as adjournments and cancellations can be made to the list at any time, and for any reason, right up until 10 a.m. on Thursday morning. To see the current mortgage foreclosure list go to:
2024 CALHOUN COUNTY MICHIGAN MORTGAGE FORECLOSURE AUCTIONS:
The foreclosure sale conducted by the Sheriff’s Office is NOT an auction where you can purchase a property at a greatly reduced price. The sale price is set by the mortgage company. A property that goes to sale, NEVER sells for less than the bid price set by the mortgage company.
A list of the foreclosed properties will be made available at the time of sale. If you do not see the property that you are interested in on the list, that means that it has been adjourned until the next week, or cancelled. Adjournments are posted weekly in the lobby of the Calhoun County Justice Center If the sale has been cancelled, it will not reappear on the mortgage foreclosure list the following week.
Bids on the properties will be accepted for the entire hour. Any 3rd party bidder will need to bid at least $1 over what the mortgagee’s bid is to be the winning bidder of the property. At 11 a.m. the sale will be closed and the successful bidder will be allowed one hour to get a certified, or cashier’s check (made out to the mortgagee) in the amount that was bid by them. The $1 overbid will be accepted in the form of cash. If the overbid is more than $1, you will be required to get another certified, or cashier’s check in whatever amount that would be, made out to the Calhoun County Treasurer’s Office. DO NOT include the overage in the check made out to the mortgagee, the overbid amount will be placed in an interest bearing account and will be held there until the redemption period is over. Any claim to the overage would need to be made to the Calhoun County Treasurer’s Office (269-781-0807).
The successful bidder should expect to receive the sheriff’s deed for YOU to record with the Calhoun County Register of Deeds within 7-10 business days. You will be required to make your own "Affidavit of Redemption" and to pay the recording fees.
Remember that successful bidders cannot take ownership, or possess the property until the redemption period has expired, or the property has been certified as abandoned. There is no warranty attached, or implied. BUYERS BEWARE-CAREFUL RESEARCH IS REQUIRED!
THE SHERIFF’S OFFICE CANNOT PROVIDE ANY LEGAL ADVICE, INCLUDING ADVICE ON RECORDING ANY DOCUMENTS WITH THE REGISTER OF DEEDS.
Mortgage Foreclosures Evictions
If you have questions about the mortgage foreclosure process please click on the link below:
If you have questions about the rental eviction process please click on the link below:
A fee of $9.73 per 1/4 hour will be added for the supervision of the rental evictions. For a fee we can remove the personal property to the curb.